Furlani bread products:
Yes, all Furlani products are suitable for a lacto-vegetarian diet – they contain milk but no other animal-derived ingredients.
A vegetarian diet consists of fruit, vegetables, legumes (dried beans, peas and lentils), seeds, nuts, grains and excludes the consumption of meat, poultry, fish and any products that contain these foods. Some vegetarians choose to eat dairy products and eggs, while some exclude these foods.
A lacto-vegetarian diet includes the consumption of fruit, vegetables, legumes, seeds, nuts, grains and dairy products (milk, butter, ghee, cream, ice cream, cheese, yogurt, kefir).
A lacto-ovo vegetarian diet includes the consumption of fruit, vegetables, legumes, seeds, nuts, grains, dairy products and eggs.
A vegan diet consists of fruit, vegetables, legumes, seeds, nuts, grains and excludes all animal products. This means no meat, poultry, fish, dairy, eggs or honey.
Enzymes are used in bread making to help the dough rise, making the bread bigger and softer and keeping it fresher for longer. In cheese manufacturing, certain enzymes are added to break down the milk protein and separate it into solids (curds) and liquid (whey). The curds are then collected and made into cheese. Furlani uses “microbial enzymes” in its bread making processes.
These microbial enzymes are produced from microbial fermentation as opposed to being sequestered from an animal source.
The microbial enzymes Furlani uses in its products are derived from the fermentation of a microbe (commonly a fungi, mold or yeast) and not the stomach of a ruminant animal (cow, goat, or sheep). This makes Furlani products suitable for a vegetarian diet.
Certain Furlani products require lipase enzymes in its cheeses and spreads.
Lipase enzymes are added to certain cheeses (Parmesan, feta, and blue cheese in particular) to break down the milk fat. This then enhances the cheese’s flavour and opens up its aroma. That is why some cheeses “smell” more than others.
Furlani only uses microbial lipase, which is produced by microorganisms such as bacteria and fungi. All Furlani suppliers must also ensure that the ingredients they provide Furlani include only microbial-sourced enzymes.
Furlani products do not contain any ingredients sourced from the slaughter of an animal.
Yes, Furlani uses plant-sourced monoglycerides.
The mono and diglycerides (or monoglycerides) in Furlani garlic breads come from soybean oil.
The distilled monoglycerides in Furlani spreads come from palm oil.
All Furlani products contain wheat, milk, and soy. Furlani products are not gluten free, dairy free or considered vegan.
Furlani bread ingredients include items such as:
Dairy is used in Furlani product spread, cheese, and cheese blends. Depending on the product type, the spread contains dairy and/or whey powder and butter. Whey is a dairy by-product in the cheese-making process.
Furlani spread ingredients include:
Furlani cheese ingredients include:
Furlani bread products are grain-based and contain wheat, milk, soy, and include plant- and microbial-based ingredients, therefore are suited for a lacto-vegetarian diet.